Skip Navigation

Chestnut Hill Architectural Hall of Fame

November 2015

The Chestnut Hill Architectural Hall of Fame inducted five inaugural members at a gala ceremony 14 November 2015. The Margaret Esherick House, designed by architect Louis I. Kahn and built in 1961, was part of the inaugural class.

The current owners and a design and construction team including k YODER design collaborated to ensure continued stewardship of the Margaret Esherick House as an important example of Kahn’s work and to improve its livability as a 21st century home. New interventions maintain the rigor of servant and served spaces, complement – rather than replicate – aesthetic details, and refine elements not intrinsic to Kahn’s vision.

Chestnut Hill is among the nation’s most architecturally distinguished communities, home to outstanding examples of architecture from three centuries. The Chestnut Hill Architectural Hall of Fame is a distinguished list of the community’s most treasured significant buildings, structures, and landscapes chosen by the public. These properties represent groundbreaking approaches to planning and design; are significant for their design, materials, and craftsmanship; or as an exceptional example of their style; or are of historical significance because of an association with an event, a person, or by age. Thousands of public votes are cast annually to induct these treasures into the Hall of Fame.

View the complete Chestnut Hill Architectural Hall of Fame.